Callaway Sprinkle

IMG_3812

What I study here | Что я занимаюсь

I’m a second-year student and an International Relations and Russian & Post-Soviet Studies double-major, with a particular interest in linguistics, history, and the Soviet Union.

Я учусь на втором курсе на факультете международных отнешений и на факультете русского страноведения. Меня интересуют лингвистика, история, и СССР как социальный эксперимент.

Where I’m from | Где я родился / жил

I was born in London but have lived in Virginia ever since I came to the U.S. when I was 5.

Я родился в Лондоне, но я жил в Вирджинии после того, как переехал в США. Мне было пять лет.

(This is why I speak with an English accent. Yes, I can speak without it as well. Yes, I probably will. No, it’s not predictable.)

Why I’m going to Russia | Потому что я еду в Россию

I’m going to Russia because I want to study Russian culture and history. I’m interested in the USSR, so I want to listen to stories and ask Russians to tell be about their lives and pasts.

Я еду в Россию потому что я хочу учиться о русской историей и о културе. Я интересуюсь СССР, так я хочу слушать рассказы и српашивать русскый людей рассказывать мне по них жизным.

(My project is on water and its importance to the city and its legend, but this is my side project. I was also there last summer and loved it, and am dying to go back and orient myself more within the country. Lastly, this is a great crash course in Russian to accelerate my abilities and get me comfortable quickly with speaking on the fly.)